Winner in the footsteps of Wooldridge

Oliver Brown, of the Daily Telegraph, accepted the Ian Wooldridge Trophy as the first SJA Young Sports Journalist of the Year at Monday night’s British Sports Journalism Awards from Barry Newcombe, right, Chairman of the SJA, and Sarah Wooldridge, widow of the former Daily Mail columnist and three times SJA Sports Writer of the Year, who died in 2007.

Brown’s entry attracted more votes than any other winner in any category at this year’s awards.

One judge said that anyone winning the inaugural Ian Wooldridge Trophy should provide “entertainment and adventure with a light touch. The great man would have enjoyed this work”.

Another judge said the winner is “a class writer of great promise”, while another commented that he “shows real flair for getting under the skin of his subject matter”.

For more on the SJA British Sports Journalism Awards, click here

Join the SJA today – click here for details and membership application form