Press conference: Laureus 2012 award nominations

From Laureus
Thursday, December 15, 2011, 10.00hrs at Central Hall, Westminster, Storey’s Gate, London, SW1H 9NH

Laureus World Sports Academy Members Sebastian Coe, Sean Fitzpatrick, Daley Thompson and Tanni Grey-Thompson team up on December 15 at Central Hall, Westminster, to announce the names of the Nominees for the 2012 Laureus World Sports Awards, which will be held in London next February.

The Laureus World Sports Awards is recognised as the premier honours event in the international sporting calendar as stars of the sporting world come together to salute the finest sportsmen and sportswomen of the year.

The winners are selected by the ultimate sports jury – the 47 members of the Laureus World Sports Academy, the living legends of sport honouring the greatest athletes of today.

The 2012 Laureus World Sports Awards Ceremony will be held at Central Hall, Westminster, on the evening of Monday, February 6.

Proceeds from the Laureus World Sports Awards directly benefit and underpin the work of the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation. Since its inception, Laureus has raised more than €40 million for projects that have helped to improve the lives of more than one-and-a-half million young people. Currently Laureus supports 89 projects around the world.

Nominations will be announced in seven categories: Laureus World Sportsman of the Year, Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year, Laureus World Team of the Year, Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year, Laureus World Comeback of the Year, Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability and Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year.

Members of print, broadcast and online media are invited to attend. There will be a photo-shoot and opportunities for one-to-one interviews. Lunch will be available at the end of the formal proceedings.

For further information and to confirm attendance, please contact:
Gerald Meier,
Head of Global Communications
Tel: +44 (0) 207 514 2749
E mail:
Photo Archive:
Video Archive: