Warm welcome to new members

A bumper batch of new members has been welcomed into the Sports Journalists’ Association recently – all, we hope, looking forward to playing a full part in the Association’s activities over the next year, leading towards the 60th anniversary.

On behalf of the whole of the SJA, may I wish a warm welcome to all new members and remind them not to hesitate to contact any of the committee if they have any questions or work-related issues that may need resolving, if they wish to post news on the website or have published in the quarterly Bulletin, or have any other issues with which the Association might be able to assist. Steven Downes, SJA Secretary.

The new members include:
Anthony O’Brien, Andrew Boyers, Carl Recline, Scott Heavey – all photographers with Action Images

John Wilkinson – a writer from Coventry

Mike Driscoll – a photographer specialising in gymnastics, from Chatham

Vince Pettit – a motor racing photographer, from Royston

Roger Hudson – based in Eastbourne and works for the BBC

David Fine – official poet to English cricket’s Barmy Army, based in Derbyshire

Russell Lee – motor sport photographer from Essex

Belinda Sinclair – freelance cycling photographer from Wallington

Duncan Jenner – Editor, Sports Management magazine, from Hitchin

Chris Brunskill – photographer based in Aughton, Lancs

Nicky Hayes – photographer, from Essex

Robert Vallance – photographer, from Essex

Alex Lowe – Press Association, based in London

Michele Verroken – sports writer from Herts

Ben Queenborough – photographer, Herts

Sarah Shore, Jill Maxwell, Nigel Currie, Claire Lodge – from BrandRapport PR agency in Guildford

Lee Earle – photograper from Basingstoke

George Dobell – cricket writer based in Birmingham

David PinegarThe Sun, living in Derbyshire

Paul Bradbury – photographer based in Staffordshire

Glenn Campbell – photographer from Kingston upon Thames

Will Powell – wapsportmedia, from Hemel Hempstead

Kris Temple – BBC, based in Chandlers Ford, Hants

Steve Watton – Little Witley, Worcs

Catherine Ivill – photographer, Shrewsbury

Michael Henson, Fei Yao, Pauline McVey, Joao Frigerio – all from SportCal, based in Wimbledon

Andrew Haigh – Sun Online

All members are reminded that they should complete, or update, their profile for the SJA Yearbook and return it to editor Paul Trow. Full details can be found here.

And if you are a professional sports journalist – whether photographer, editor, cartoonist, author or reporter – and would like to join the SJA, then click here for more details on the benefits of membership and an application form.