Less than a week left to enter journalism awards

There is now less than a week before the closing date for entries for the 2009 Sports Journalists’ Association British Sports Journalism Awards, sponsored by UK Sport and Sky Bet, are now open.

Full competition rules for all the categories and details of the impressive panel of judges can be found on the relevant entry forms, which are all available to download here.

Entry for these awards is open to all journalists working for British-based media organisations, whether members of the SJA or not, although there are limits on the number of entries in each category from media organisations (please refer to the entry form for details). Fees are a very reasonable £25 for each entry in each category from those working with major media outlets, or a single £25 fee for freelancers, however many categories they enter.

As in the past, there are categories for sports writers, sports photographers, cartoonists and those who write for the internet. Some of Britain’s greatest sports writers

The SJA’s British Sports Photography Awards have been going for more than 30 years and they represent crucial element in the awards night. Among past Sports Photographers of the Year have been Eamonn McCabe, one of this year’s judges, Chris Smith, last year’s chairman of photography judges, and Bob Martin.

The closing date for entries in all categories is Friday, January 8, 2010. Completed entries must be sent to the SJA secretariat’s offices, Start2Finish Event Management, Unit 92, Capital Business Centre, 22 Carlton Road, South Croydon, CR2 0BS

The winners of the 2009 SJA British Sports Journalism Awards will announced at a gala dinner to be staged at The Brewery in London on March 8, 2010.

Details of how you can attend this prestigious event will be announced in due course, or you can contact the event managers, Start2Finish Events, on 020 8916 2234.

First posted: Jan 3

Click here for more recent articles on journalism, sport and sports journalism

Your SJA subscription is due from JANUARY 1 – click here for details of how to make your payment