Scottish Football Writers’ Association

THE Scottish Football Writers’ Association aims to look after the best interests of professional football writers in Scotland and has been doing so since its formation in 1957.

The SFWA endeavours to obtain the highest standard of facilities for its members at football grounds and training grounds across the country – and beyond – and maintain close relations with all football associations, leagues and clubs.

In the pioneering days, a hard-wired phone was the pre-requisite for any journalist trying to file copy. Now heaven, is a comfortable work-space, with power and wi-fi.

The Player of the Year award began in 1965 and it remains the most prestigious individual honour in the Scottish game.

There are now 120 members of the Scottish Football Writers’ Association in print and digital journalism.

President: Stephen Halliday (The Scotsman)

Secretary: John McGarry (Daily Mail)

Treasurer: Iain Macfarlane (Star of Scotland)

Committee: Mark Guidi (freelance), Roddy Forsyth (The Telegraph), Gareth Law (The Scottish Sun), David Walker (Sunday Post), Gavin Berry (Daily Record), Graeme Croser (Mail on Sunday)