Lawn Tennis Writers’ Association of Great Britain

The Lawn Tennis Writers’ Association of Great Britain was founded in 1951 comprising tennis writers from regional and national newspapers, agencies and tennis magazines and now includes broadcasters and photographers.

Times have changed – the first awards get-together was a dinner and ball at the Park Lane Hotel conducted by LTWA president Viscount Lord Rothermere, owner of the Daily Mail. These days the occasion is a lunch but still a sell-out.

What has survived is the close and friendly tie with the All-England Club. In 2014, for instance, the association persuaded the club not to move the media seats on Centre Court to the back of arena.

Four years ago the LTWA ran a junior tennis journalist competition for youngsters between the ages of 11-19. Two were given the chance to attend the Barclays ATP World Tour finals and even interviewed Boris Becker.

There is a website HERE which includes a live automated section of RSS tennis feeds from the main national and international newspapers and tournaments where available, plus a live automated feed of tweets from those followed by @theLTWA account.

The association publish occasional features contributed by members, plus a monthly gallery of the best tennis photographs compiled by Getty.

LTWA Committee

President: Reg Brace
Honorary Vice-Presidents: David Irvine, John Roberts, Ron Atkin, Nigel Clarke, David Mercer and Barry Newcombe
Chair: Barry Flatman
Vice-Chair: Simon Briggs
Treasurer: Barry Millns
Secretary: Henry Wancke
Social Secretary: April Tod
Events Secretary: David Luddy
Committee: Chris Bowers, Clive Brunskill, Mike Dickson, Russell Fuller, Chris Jones

For further news and articles on tennis writers, please click HERE